Health & Wellness Resource Center
Before you make any rash decisions...check here
About this Resource
What is it?
Your access to authoritative health information, including full-text medical encyclopedias, journals, pamphlets, videos, and health articles from more than 3,000 general interest publications covering health care, diet, and fitness topics. Whether you’re a student, patient or medical professional - the Health & Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive research tool. See list of journals.
- Articles about specific diseases or conditions (Asthma, Diabetes)
- Drug fact sheets (including herbal remedies)
- Detailed explanation of various medical procedures (e.g.Thoracic Surgery)
- Research articles from medical journals
- News items
- Hospital Directory
- Medical Dictionary
- Videos: A search for "surgery" will yield some interesting film footage on the VIDEOS tab.
How Does it Work?
Basic: Enter a word or words in the blank box and then select one of the following options: Keyword, Subject or Entire Document.
When to Use Advanced Search: Finding a specific article, when you already know the title, publication name or author
Combining your terms with Boolean operators and index fields
See a Guided Tour and more Search Tips
NOTE: The article full-text is not included for all items. Ask A Librarian for assistance in finding the full-text of articles not included.
Where do I go to find it?
From the library website, click Research / Research Portal / choose Health & Wellness Resource Center from the menu
You may also be interested in ¡Salud! a information portal created with our partner at the Virginia Hospital Center Medical Library.
Sample Searches
Search 1
You need a MRI performed on your ankle. Your doctor described the tube you have to be in for the duration of the test. However, you are claustrophobic, so you wonder if it is possible to have an MRI performed solely on your ankle?
Solution:
- Open Health & Wellness Resource Center
- Click on the Advanced Search button
- Enter MRI as a keyword in the first Search box
- Enter claustrophobi* as a keyword in the second Search box
- Scroll down to the Search limiter section
- Click on the checkbox for "Consumer Health"
- Click on the Search button
- You will receive a result, that explains the process as well as alternatives
Search 2
A researcher wants to formulate a search in Health & Wellness Resource Center that will retrieve full-text articles published from 2007 to the present on workplace stress.
Solution:
- Open Health & Wellness Resource Center
- Go to the Advanced Search page
- Enter stress as the Keyword in the first entry box
- Enter workplace or (work place)" as Keyword in the second entry box
- Check the "full-text articles" box
- Under "Date of Publication" select " January -1- 2007" for "From" and leave the "To" field blank
- Click on the "Search" button and retrieve more than 100 full-text articles
Technical Information
Best viewed by the following browsers and operating systems:
Internet Explorer 7.x to 8.x
* Windows XP, Server 2003, Vista and 7
Firefox 3.x to 3.5.x
* Windows XP, Server 2003, Vista and 7
* Mac OS X 10.4.x to 10.6.x
* Linux distributions
Safari 4.x
* Windows XP, Server 2003, Vista, and 7
* Mac OS X 10.4.x to 10.6.x
Opera 9.x
* Windows XP, Server 2003, Vista, and 7
* Mac OS X 10.4.x to 10.6.x
Chrome 5.x
* Windows XP, Server 2003, Vista, and 7
* Mac OS X 10.5.x to 10.6.x
Other browsers (e.g. Firefox 1.x, Netscape Navigator) or other operating systems (e.g. Linux distributions, Windows 98, Mac OS 9) may be used to access our products, but you may encounter issues with alignment, readability, navigation, and/or functionality.
Cookies
Cookies must be enabled in your browser for access to this resource. If you have had a problem connecting to this or other Gale resources, you may need to remove your Gale cookies before you can continue. Use the Gale Cookie Cutter to clear them.
Login Help
Be sure
- You have an Arlington Public Library Card and you have a PIN
- Your account has not expired and has no excessive fines and fees
- To type all 12 or 14 digits of your library card number. Be sure to enter “2020″ before older card numbers less than 12 digits
- To enter a username exactly as you set it.



Loading...
