- African American Music Reference
Chronicling this rich history from colonial times to the present. Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, gospel, and more.
- Agriculture Collection
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
- Air & Space Magazine
(1986-present) Search and display complete articles/images about every era of aviation and space exploration with stories that range from the Wright Brothers to the design of NASA’s next lunar lander, as well as other topics including a look inside the International Space Station, biofuels in aviation, navigating in space and the next generation of stealth aircraft.
- Alexandria Gazette (Historical)
This long-running daily newspaper was printed and published by Samuel Snowden in Alexandria, Virginia, under various names including the Alexandria Daily Gazette Commercial & Political and the Alexandria Gazette & Daily Advertiser. July 11, 1808 - Dec. 30, 1876: ONLINE in the Library or from home. Feb. 1784-Dec. 1811 and Nov. 8, 1924-Feb. 13, 1936: on microfilm available in the Local History Center
- American Music
Music from America's past. Songs by and about American Indians, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, and cowboys, Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests. Includes the African American music collection.
- Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry® Library Edition is similar (but not identical) to the consumer version. This research tool offers comprehensive international genealogical information, with more than 5 billion names in thousands of collections. Details. Available only on Library computers. No remote access due to licensing.
- AP Stylebook Online
The AP Stylebook is a reference for writers, editors, students and professional journalists. Find guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style. Since its initial publication in 1953, the AP Stylebook has been considered a definitive resource for journalists." Details
- Artemis Literary Sources
Search across our Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres.
- Biography in Context
In-depth coverage information on the world's most influential individuals. Find people from almost every field of endeavor, from around the world. Search by name, occupation, birthplace and more. Get articles, photos and video.
Watch and read along with video storybooks! Classic children’s picture books are paired with a related nonfiction eBook. Plus puzzles, games and age-appropriate web links allow kids to further explore. Aimed at Preschool to 3rd grade, it's perfect for early or reluctant readers and as well as English Language learners. Details.
- Books & Authors
Stuck on the question of "what do I read next"? These reading suggestions for fiction and nonfiction are perfect for reading groups and book clubs. See expert picks or browse for title, author, or "who what where when." Note: Not all titles are available from Arlington Public Library. Please check our catalog to be sure.
- Business Economics and Theory
Strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Business Insights: Essentials has case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, and additional reference materials, organized by country, company and industry. Find both national and global coverage. Details
- Child Development
Early childhood education, health & parenting topics.
- Classical Music in Video
See performances and masterclasses, plus interviews with master teachers. Find various forms of music, including major orchestral performances, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances. 400+ streaming video hours
- Classical Music Library
Choral works, symphonies, operas, vocal and instrumental music, chamber music, and more. Ranges from medieval to contemporary music. Find 16,000 classical works, over 200 genres, and thousands of artists, ensembles, and major-label audio recordings
- Classical Music Reference Library
Explores the history of Western classical music. Coverage runs from the Medieval period to the 21st century. Find biographies, chronologies, and critical texts.
- Classical Scores Library
- Communications and Mass Media Collection
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
- Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
- Consumer Guides - Weiss Ratings
A collection of 9 downloadable PDF guides. Available guides: Automobile Insurance, Elder Care Choices, Health Savings Accounts, Homeowners Insurance, Long-Term Care Insurance, Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage, Medicare Supplement Insurance, Term Life Insurance, and Variable Annuities. Get details and recommendations on what to look for when purchasing these products.
We subscribe! Library cardholders have direct access to product and service "Ratings and Recommendations," plus selections from the latest issue, and a searchable 4-year archive of Ratings. NOTE: ConsumerReports Health Online is not included in the library subscription. Details
- Consumers' CHECKBOOK
Get complete ratings of firms and services in the Washington DC area, plus "CHECKBOOK Bargains" with competitive prices on thousands of big-ticket products at local stores. (Available only in the library, due to licensing restrictions)
- Contemporary World Music
Traditional and contemporary genres covered, worldbeat, Afropop, ritual songs, folk traditions, Indian classical, and more. More than 160 countries, 400 languages, 1,000 cultural groups, and 2,000 instruments.
- Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge
- Culinary Arts Collection
Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Dance in Video
For the study of 20th Century concert dance. Includes the forerunners and pioneers of modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; documentaries on leading choreographers; and videos on dance training.
- Diversity Studies Collection
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Coverage begins in 1980.
- EBSCO eBooks
Browse thousands of nonfiction books online, or download to select devices (formerly NetLibrary). Details.
A searchable collection of books, magazines, newspapers, pictures, and educator-approved websites. Details.
- Encyclopedia of Associations - International (Gale Directory Library)
Find contact information and descriptions for multinational and national groups based throughout the world, as well as multinational associations headquartered in the U.S. See purpose, activities, conferences, publications, address, phone and more. Print, email or download entries to analyze data or generate lists.
- Encyclopedia of Associations - National (Gale Directory Library)
Find detailed information on nonprofit American membership organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.
- Encyclopædia Britannica
The renowned printed Encyclopædia Britannica is no longer being sold. Online, the encyclopedia is just the first stop. Move on to the atlas, world data, the classics, biographies, news, multimedia, and more. Merriam-Webster dictionary search also available. For high school students and up. Details.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
- Evening Star (Historical)
This long-running Washington D.C. daily afternoon paper was published for more than 100 years and was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. Dates of coverage: Dec 16, 1852 - Dec 31, 1922. Details.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
- Eyewitness eBooks for Kids
DK Eyewitness eBooks about animals, science, history & more. Read online.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection
Full-text magazines and journals for research in areas of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
- Foundation Directory Online
Updated weekly, this directory publishes the most accurate details available on U.S. funders and their grants. Search for detailed funder profiles, recently awarded grants, company profiles, and IRS Forms 990. Watch a quick video tutorial. Only available on Central Library computers, due to licensing restrictions.
- Foundation Grants to Individuals
This database can quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,200 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Only available Central Library computers, due to licensing restrictions.
- Gale Directory Library - All Titles
Search across several directories within the Gale Directory Library. Find contacts, generate lists, or analyze trends. Use a range of data sorting, filtering and exporting tools. Details.
- Gale Directory Of Early Stage Investment
A guide to more than 4, 500 angel investment groups, business incubators, venture capital firms, associations, and resources needed to help entrepreneurs start or grow their business. Part of the Gale Directory Library.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Digital versions of our encyclopedias, almanacs, and many other reference works. Search the full-text of one book, or cross-search the complete collection all at once. http://library.arlingtonva.libguides.com/referenceebooks
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Online version along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
- General OneFile
One-stop source for magazine and journal articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of fulltext articles updated daily. Search here when you want the broadest coverage of sources. Details
- General Reference Center Gold
Search across newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Good for current events, popular culture, arts and sciences, travel, sports, hobbies, and more.
- General Science Collection
Coverage of all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center
One-stop source for health research. Search reference books, health magazines and medical journals, pamphlets, drug indexes, and more. Includes health assessment tools, and special Alternative Medicine content. Details
- Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Digital, searchable images of US federal census records from 1790 - 1930. Includes family and local histories, tax lists, probate records and city directories. Details
- Historical Newspaper - Alexandria Gazette
This long-running daily newspaper was printed and published by Samuel Snowden in Alexandria, Virginia, under various names including the Alexandria Daily Gazette Commercial & Political and the Alexandria Gazette & Daily Advertiser. Details
- Historical Newspaper - Evening Star
This long-running Washington D.C. daily afternoon paper was published for more than 100 years and was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. Dates of coverage: Dec 16, 1852 - Dec 31, 1922. Details
- Historical Newspaper - New York Times with Index
Digital reproductions of every page from every issue. Another year added annually.(1851-2010) w/ Index (1851-1993)
- Historical Newspaper - Washington Post
Digital reproductions of every page from every issue. Coverage: 1877-1998
- Home Improvement Collection
Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.
With hoopla you can stream and temporarily download music and eAudiobooks. Limit: Borrow 6 titles per calender month - See "My Titles" for lists of titles Borrowed or added to Favorites. Details
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
A web streaming movie service which offers thousands of award-winning shorts, feature films, and documentaries by independent filmmakers. Founded by filmmakers, IndieFlix curates the best from film festivals and producers worldwide. Details
- Information Science & Library Issues
Leading industry journals covering topics such as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. Coverage begins in 1980.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
Search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, with U.S. national and local papers as well as leading international news sources. Customize your own screen appearance, search options and results format. Includes New York Times, Washington Times, Roanoke Times. Note: articles are not same-day editions, availability varies by publisher.
- Insurance & Liability Collection
These focused journals give a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
- Jazz Music Library
More than 100 genres covered, including vocal jazz, bebop, big band, swing, acid jazz, modal jazz, traditional jazz, Latin jazz, and ragtime. Find thousands of artists and ensembles.
- Kids InfoBits
Homework is easier using the topic tree search with full-text articles from magazine, newspaper and reference books. Learn about current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. For Grades K-5. Details
- LearningExpress Library v3.0
Practice tests for exams for Air Traffic Controller, ASVAB, Citizenship, Civil Service, Cosmetology, Culinary Arts, EMT, Firefighter, Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Nursing, Postal Worker,Plumbing, Teaching and more. Academic tests include ACT, High School Equivalency (GED,) SAT, Basic Skills, plus Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. eBooks may also be available to help you practice. Details.
- Legal Forms Library
A database of thousands of legal forms, with more forms being added daily. Find forms specifically for the State of Virginia, plus forms for bankruptcy, bill of sale, contracts, divorce, landlord tenant, living wills, name change, power of attorney, real estate, sample letters, tax forms, last will and testament, and much more. From Gale Cengage. Details
- Library PressDisplay
Today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 1,700 US and international titles (New York Times not available). Just like reading the print edition. Details
- Literati - Homework Help
A homework site for all Virginia Students in Grades 3-12. Find thousands of focused Topic Pages, encyclopedia entries, magazine articles, non-fiction eBooks, audio and video clips, and copyright free images. Plus FREE Homework Help, six days week.Details
- Literature Criticism Online
Critiques on authors and their works, types of literature and regions. Details
- Contemporary Literary Criticism: active authors or who died after 1999
- 20th Century Literary Criticism: major authors: 1900-1999
- 19th Century Literary Criticism: major authors: 1800-1899
- Poetry Criticism
- Short Story Criticism
- Literature Resource Center
Find full-text articles from scholarly journals, critical essays, work and topic overviews, literary movements. Plus book reviews, biographies and author or works information. Covers both classic and contemporary literature in all genres. Details.
- lynda.com - Now Available From Home
Lynda.com is a web-based video subscription service that provides tutorials for learning about software, art processes, business processes, web design, job search tools and much more. Details
- Magazine & Newspaper Locator
The Locator tool is being migrated to a new platform and is currently unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience.
- Mango Languages
Learn a different languages through real, everyday conversations between native speakers. See available languages and details.
Try the app too.
- Military & Intelligence Database
Periodicals and journals which cover the military or intelligence aspect of the aerospace industry, business, computer science, energy and mining, engineering, environmental science and political science.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Authoritative information on mutual funds and stocks. Find investment ideas or top-rated stocks and funds. Portfolio X-ray reveals the underlying details of your portfolio. Details
- Music & Performing Arts Collections - Alexander Street Press
These streaming collections include audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Details
- Muzzy Language Courses
The BBC language program enjoyed by families and language beginners of all ages. Muzzy is aimed at children from preschool to elementary school age. See available languages and details.
- National Geographic Kids
One-stop spot-for homework or fun. Explore and learn about animals, the environment, places, peoples and cultures, history, adventure, and more. Includes: "National Geographic Kids" magazine from 2009-present (3 month embargo.) and National Geographic kids books to read online, (No downloads.) Plus 500 downloadable images to download for educational purposes. For students ages 6-14.
- National Geographic Magazine: 1888 to Recent issues
Read online, no downloads. The complete archive of the official journal of the National Geographic Society: with every page, every photograph, and map, all fully searchable. Even the ads are included! Also available: last two years of National Geographic Traveler.
- National Geographic Virtual Library
The National Geographic Magazine Archive from 1888 to 1994 has the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, with every page, every photograph, and map, all fully searchable. Even the ads are included! Details
- New York Times with Index (Historical)
Digital reproductions of every page from every issue. Another year added annually.(1851-2008) w/ Index (1851-1993)
- Newspaper Direct PressDisplay - now Library PressDisplay
Today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 1,700 US and international titles (New York Times not available.) Just like reading the print edition. Note: Limit of 6 concurrent users - please remember to sign out.Details
- Newspapers by ProQuest
Current and archived stories (text only) from major US and International newspapers. Includes Washington Post, Washington Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and more. Details
Guide to fiction for adults, teens, and kids, covering over 300,000 titles included. Search for a specific title, author, series, or subject or browse reading lists, author-read-alikes, award winners, book discussion guides and more! Click on "Check the Arlington Public Library Catalog" to verify the book's availability. Details
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- Opera in Video
See operatic performances, staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. 500 hours of video for 290 operatic works.
Find eBooks and eAudio downloadable digital titles. -
- Oxford English Dictionary
Accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Find the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than a half-million words, both current and obsolete.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Covers the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
- Pop Culture Collection
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course.
- Popular Music Library
A wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music,including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
- ProQuest Newspapers
Current and archived stories (text only) from major US and International newspapers. Includes Washington Post, Washington Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and more. Details
- Psychology Collection
This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.
The premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. For entrepreneurs, businesses, students, job-seekers or anyone wanting access to information on tens of millions of businesses and hundreds of millions of consumers in an easy to search format. Details
- Religion & Philosophy
A custom selection of more than 250 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology and anthropology.
- Research in Context
Topics covered include cultures, government, people, U.S. history, sports, world history, geography, literature, science, and social issues. Aimed at middle school students.
- Small Business Collection
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, The collection includes an more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.
- Smithsonian Magazine
(1970-present) Search and display articles/images on fascinating topics such as Titanoboa, the largest snake ever to live on Earth, how the mind makes memories, the assassination attempt on Teddy Roosevelt, secrets of Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello estate and insights into Black Holes.
- SRDS Business Publications
Market your business: find targeted ad opportunities in a particular market, media type or geography. Coverage includes trade media, print journals, websites and direct marketing lists that reach business-to-business audiences. To access, select "Business Publications" from menu at left.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
A comprehensive source of business and investment data and analysis on companies, stocks and mutual funds. Includes online versions of standard S&P publications: The Outlook, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Stock Reports, and Daily Price Record. Details
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people Both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. Online via ProQuest.
- Student Edition
Designed for high school students, InfoTrac Student Edition features magazine, newspaper and reference articles for general topics.
- Testing and Education Reference Center
Information on colleges, technical schools, practice entrance exams, plus certification or professional license exams that show you what to expect and how to prepare for — and excel at — the next level. Tip: the Virtual Career Library and Resume Builder help job seekers by providing specific examples and tips for the job search. Just create a free account to use them. Details
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books for elementary school children. Created from existing picture books, adding sound, animation, music and narration creates an electronic picture book. Details
- U.S. History Collection
This collection provides coverage of the current thinking and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
- Value Line
A comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Includes: Standard Edition | Small and Mid-Cap Edition | Mutual Fund Survey | Daily Options Survey | Convertibles Survey | Special Situations. Details
- Virtual Reference Library
Digital versions of our encyclopedias, almanacs, and many other reference works. Search the full-text of one book, or cross-search the complete collection all at once. Details.
- Vocations & Careers Collection
Offering content from over 300 largely full-text journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
- War & Terrorism
Researchers and students of history, social science, and current events will gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. Almost 100 full-text periodicals are included. Coverage begins in 1980.
- Washington Consumers' CHECKBOOK
Get complete ratings of firms and services in the Washington DC area, plus "CHECKBOOK Bargains" with competitive prices on thousands of big-ticket products at local stores. (Available only in the library, due to licensing restrictions).
- Washington Post (Historical)
Digital reproductions of every page from every issue. Another year added annually.(1877-1995)
- Women in History
Women's studies, women's cultural roles, feminism, and issues of gender.
- World History Collection
This collection of nearly 40 predominantly full-text journals provides balanced coverage of events in World History. It is useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.
- Zinio Digital Magazines
Read digital issues of your favorite magazines FREE from the Library.