About This Topic
Understanding the history and culture of other countries also helps us understand ourselves.

Premium Sites
- eLibraryA searchable collection of books, magazines, newspapers, pictures, and educator-approved websites
- General Reference Center GoldFind articles from magazines and newspapers about the country you are researching.
- Library PressDisplayFrom NewspaperDirect Inc. Today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 1,700 US and international titles (New York Times not available.) Just like reading the print edition. Note: Limit of 5 concurrent users - please remember to sign out. Details.
eCollection
- Countries & Places Reference eBooksSearch this collection for places, topics, and cultural practices around the world.
- Travel eBooks and eAudiobooksHundreds of downloadable travel guides and foreign language phrasebooks
- Guidebooks - eBooks
Websites
- Country Profiles - BBCHistory, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Plus audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- Background Notes - Department of StateBackground Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- The World Factbook - CIAIformation on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Country Studies: Area Handbook Series The Country Studies Series is not a current events database. Rather, it offers background analysis on a country's history, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security. While some may seem outdated, they are still useful for historical background.
- Countries - National GeographicFind articles, photos and maps which help understand the culture of places. Browse by continent.
- Portals to the WorldElectronic resources on the nations of the world selected by Library of Congress subject experts
- How Far Is itEnter the names of any two cities. and see the distance between them (as the crow flies) in miles, kilometers, and nautical miles.


Loading...
