This is the "." page of the "What are Premium Sites?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

What are Premium Sites?   Tags: databases, online resources  

Last Updated: Feb 6, 2012 URL: http://library.arlingtonva.libguides.com/premiumsites Print Guide ShareThis
. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Topic

Think Outside the Books


Your Library is more than books on the shelf. You have access to nearly 80 premium sites and resources purchased by the Arlington Public Library

 Printable View

 

What Are They?

  • Premium sites aren't free - but your Arlington Library card gives you FREE access to them.
  • Use premium sites to pinpoint facts for a project, research a person or a purchase, learn something new - or read newspaper and magazine articles.
  • Find our premium sites on the Research Portal  http://library.arlingtonva.libguides.com/

Where do they come from?

Our premium sites are purchased from known publishers and sources. The information found in these sites is generally more reliable than information available from searching the Internet via a search engine. Most of our premium sites are available to card holders of the Arlington Public Library, from any computer online. All items retrieved from a library premium site or subscription resource are protected by copyright.

Why search anywhere besides the free open web?

The Web offers a tremendous quantity of information, but there is no oversight to protect against biased, incomplete or out-of-date information. The Library selects premium sites that are high quality and authoritative.

What kinds of premium sites are available?

The Library has a wide range of premium content sites: encyclopedias, periodicals (magazines), newspapers, reference books, and more. Access nearly 80 premium sites. Get full-text articles, maps, and photographs from encyclopedias, newspapers, and magazines, plus investment, career, genealogy and language-learning tools. Pinpoint facts, update information, or learn about something.

Some less typical resources include Novelist, a guide to selecting fiction for readers of all ages; the Oxford English Dictionary Online, which traces words throughout history; Mango Languages, a tutorial course for several languages, and Little Pim, online language learning for kids.

What will I get?

Some premium sites provide the complete full-text of an article from a magazine or newspaper, while others offer just the citations/abstracts to the full text articles themselves. We may be able to help you find the complete article from another source or library.

Tip: Email an article to yourself to read later. 

How do I begin?

From the Research Portal you can browse a Topic Guide which suggests premium sites to try. Or just choose a premium site from the Dropdown Menu (Select Premium Site.) To see sites with descriptions, click the link for All Premium Sites.

Once you have selected a premium site, you will be prompted to enter your library card number and PIN if you are outside the library.  Remote access is limited to users with a valid Arlington Public Library card. Anyone who lives or works in a reciprocal jurisdiction is eligible for a free Library card. Library visitors do not need a library card to access these and other resources in the library.

Tip: AccessMyLibrary gives you a fast direct link to a subset of our premium sites when using the web from your iPad, iPhone or Android. Download the free app for "AML Public" to your device.

More About These Sites...

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip