About This Topic
Information for teens on health topics.

Premium Sites
- Health & Wellness Resource Center Health-related articles (many full-text) in journals, magazines, reference books, and pamphlets. Index to alternative-health articles. Details
- Health Reference Center AcademicMulti-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Websites
- MedlinePlus: Teen HealthA service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this section provides medical information on many health issues that teens may face.
- Columbia University: Go Ask AliceColumbia's Health Education Program offers answers to questions about relationships; sexuality; sexual health; emotional health; fitness; nutrition; alcohol, nicotine, and other drugs; and, general health.
- Love is LouderLove is Louder was started to build on the outpouring of support online after the lives of multiple teenagers were lost to suicide in September 2010. Here you will find resources to help if you are feeling bullied or if you need someone to talk to.
- Girl's Health.govThis site was created to help girls (ages 10-16) learn about health, growing up, and issues they may face. Brought to you by the Office of Women's Health.
- Teens Health"Answers, Advice and Straight Talk."
From the health care professionals at the Nemours Foundation. - Cope Care Deal: A Mental Health Site for TeensA site for those dealing with issues of mental health and for their friends and loved ones. "All content has been reviewed by a psychiatrist specializing in child and adolescent care."
eBooks
May require a free EBSCOhost account
Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students
This single-volume resource provides detailed information on the physiological and psychological effects of addictive drugs and substances, from illegal drugs to commonly abused classes of prescription and over-the-counter drugs. 2003
UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances
Provides detailed information on 52 drugs and other addictive substances, defined as illegal drugs, legal addictive drugs and other substances as well as commonly abused classes of prescription and over-the-counter drugs. 5 Volumes. 2006
What's Real, What's Ideal: Overcoming a Negative Body Image Teen Health Library of Eating Disorder Prevention - Davis, Brangien
Offers a thoughtful, thorough, and pragmatic exploration of the relationship between teenagers' perceptions of their bodies and their overall health and well being. Bursting with factual information, realistic color photographs, and mini-stories about teens' challenges with their physical appearances, this book maintains a casual and friendly tone throughout. It's the kind of honest, informative text that flies off school library shelves.
Everything You Need to Know About Self-mutilation: A Helping Book for Teens Who Hurt Themselves - Ng, Gina.
Self-mutilation is an illness affecting as many as two million people in the U.S. Nig indicates how to recognize the symptoms and notes the potential consequences. Further, the author offers information on where to find help and basic advice on what a friend can do for someone caught up in this destructive cycle. Throughout the text, anecdotes and black-and-white and color photographs put a human face on this particular disorder.
Just for Teens
- TATAL: Teens at the Arlington Public LibraryThe Online Scene for Teens at the Arlington Public Library.
- What's Next BooklistsFind a good read from one of our many lists!
- Get a Library CardDon't have a library card? It's easy to get one!
- Arlington Public SchoolsFind your school's website here.


Loading...
