- 511 Virginia
511 Virginia has real-time traffic conditions, route planning, and information about alternative ways to travel. Check road conditions via the website or by calling 511.
- Capital Weather Gang
The inside scoop on DC, Maryland and Virginia weather. Local meteorologists blog their forecasts and predictions twice a day, and more often when the weather gets extreme. Don't miss the Snow Lover's Crystal Ball
or the comments from local weather enthusiasts.
- Dominion Power - Interactive Map of Power Outages
After an outage, use the tabe at the top of the map to "Locate Address" to see if power has been restored to your home.
- National Weather Service - Sterling
National Weather Service Forecast Office - Baltimore/Washington Sterling
Our area forecasts and imagery plus records, holiday weather, COOP data, and area
Provides weather information for worldwide locations, including current condition
- Winter Weather - VDOT
Up-to-the-minute road conditions, snow removal updates, and news releases, plus safe winter-driving tips.
- About Snow
- Avalanche Awareness
Detailed background information about avalanches: how they happen, how to recognize dangerous snow conditions, and tips for survival.
- Biggest snowstorms on record
NWS ranking of snowstorms for Washington D.C. and Baltimore area. Note that the snowstorm on January 28, 1922 is often called the "Knickerbocker Storm." It piled 28 inches of snow onto the Knickerbocker Theatre's wood-beam roof, the auditorium roof collapsed, killing 98 people and injuring 136 more, in what was Washington's all-time worst theatrical disaster.
- FEMA Winter Storms
How to prepare for and survive a blizzard--and what to do afterward--from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.
- Global Lake and River Ice Phenology Database
The U.S. National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) located in Boulder, Colorado, provides this database. It contains freeze and breakup dates and other ice cover descriptive data for 748 lakes and rivers, in North America and Eurasia.
- National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC)
Educational resources on snow, avalanche awareness, glaciers, blizzards, ice shelves, and icebergs. Photos and images of glaciers, snow cover, sea-ice extent and concentration, ice shelves and current information about snow cover; avalanches; glaciers; floating, ground, and atmospheric ice; permafrost; ice breakup; freezing and thawing indices; paleoglaciology; and ice cores, plus an archive of snow and ice data.
- Nature Baroque: Snowflakes and Crystals
"Nature Baroque: Snowflakes and Crystals" is a selection from the 1993 book It's Raining Frogs and Fishes , written by Jerry Dennis and illustrated by Glenn Wolff. This selection discusses the creation and characteristics of snow crystals.
If you want to be out in the snow, check here first. You'll find invaluable snow reports for the Southern Hemisphere, North America, and Europe. Search by geographic area and the names of the resorts shown with "New Snow" levels in the last 24 hours, plus info on lifts, trails, cross-country skiing, and more. Also useful are the archived discussions of equipment and various ski areas.
- Snow and Ice - The Why Files
Learn how to know snow. You can study flakes, get serious about cirrus, or answer the question: are comets dirty snowballs? The Why Files, provided by the University of Wisconsin, uses news and current events to explore science.
- Snow Cover: 2010 Northeast United States
A collection of high-resolution satellite images of snow cover in the northeastern United States. (Other regions also available.) The images include color composite imagery of snow cover, showing amount changes and storm systems. The images are archived by date. Provided by the Operational Significant Event Imagery Team of the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), in Suitland, Maryland.
- Snow Crystals
Learn about the physics of snow crystals and snowflakes as well as the history of early scientific observations and photographs. In addition, ways to take photos, various classification schemes, preserving snow crystals, ice-crystal halos, and unusual forms of the snowflakes. Includes good list of related websites.
- Snowflake Bentley
Wilson A. "Snowflake" Bentley was born in 1865 in Jericho, Vermont. By adapting a microscope to a bellows camera Bentley became the first person to photograph a single snowflake. His study of snowflakes continued throughout the his life and resulted in more than 5000 images of snowflakes. In 1931, he published the book Snow Crystals . The site has digital images of his snowflake photographs, biographical information about him, and links to additional Snowflake Bentley sites.