Skip to main content

Staff Guide to ProQuest Newspapers:  

Staff Guide

A collection of thousands of local, regional and international newspapers. Includes daily New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. Find current issues and backfile of most newspapers from 1986 forward.

Requirements

You Will Need

  1. A valid Arlington Public Library Card and PIN. Be sure your Library card has not expired and has no excessive fines and fees
  2. Option! Free My Research account. Details
  3. Access to the Internet - on a computer or mobile device

Librarian

About this database

What will I find?  
1800+ titles =  Newspapers | Newswires | Trade Journals | Reports | Wirefeeds 

Full text access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features. Most publications are available in full text, but some offer citations only. See full title list.

What's available? 

National newspapers: Such as the Washington Post, New York Times, USA TODAY, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, and Christian Science Monitor.  Most in full text, 1986-present.

International English-language newspapers: Find the Bangkok Post, China News, El Norte, Financial Times, Guardian, Jerusalem Post, Tokyo Financial Wire, Daily Telegraph, Wall Street Journal Asia and Europe, BBC Monitoring series, and more. Most in full text, 1991 - present.

Business: Find current and archived stories from Wall Street Journal’s Eastern, Asian and European editions, Financial Times, American Banker, plus press releases from Business Wire. National full-text newspapers such as New York Times, Washington Post. Tip: To quickly retrieve the business section of the Post, paste this into the Search box:  pub(washington post) AND SEC(business)

Genealogy: Newspapers offer incredible historical records to genealogists. They contain not only birth announcements and obituaries but mentions and news of relatives and friends that you may have missed. 

Tips
Full text newspaper stories mean lots of words are being searched. Focus your search by limiting your terms to specific fields such as Abstract, Page, or Date Line. Details. 

Find a specific title, such as the NYT Book Review enter a search like this: pub.Exact("New York Times Book Review")

Quick Tutorial

FAQs

FAQs

I found the article I want. How can I save it? 

Choose from the document options at upper right.  

  • Print
  • Email 
  • Save
    • You can download a PDF if available
    • Save to My Research adds the record to your My Research account where you can access it later.

Why would I want a My Research account?

It's handy to save searches you want to run again. You can combine saved searches and re-run as a more precise new search. You can create an email alert and be notified when new articles appear. For example, create a search alert for the New York Times Book Review.

Note: you must be signed into ProQuest Newspapers to view articles from links in an alert.